Printer friendly page

Meet the Board

The Chair of the UK Statistics Authority is Sir Andrew Dilnot CBE. Andrew was appointed Chair of the Authority by Her Majesty the Queen in December 2011 following open competition, and with parliamentary approval.  

Seven other non-executive members were appointed through open competition, some after consultation with the devolved administrations. The non-executive members are Professor Sir Adrian Smith FRS (who occupies the Deputy Chair post with responsibility for the governance of ONS), Professor David Rhind (who occupies the Deputy Chair post with responsibility for promoting and safeguarding the production and publication of all official statistics across the UK), Dame Colette Bowe, Carolyn Fairbairn, Dame Moira Gibb, Professor David Hand and Dr David Levy.

The Authority has three executive members. They are John Pullinger (the National Statistician), Ed Humpherson (the Authority's Head of Assessment) and Glen Watson (the Director General of ONS).

The National Statistician is a Crown appointment as the Statistics Authority's and the Government's principal adviser on official statistics. The National Statistician is Head of the Government Statistical Service, and is also the Authority's Chief Executive and Permanent Secretary.

The Head of Assessment is a statutory post as the the Authority's principal adviser on the assessment and reassessment of official statistics and their compliance with the Code of Practice for Official Statistics.

Click on the links below for biographical information about each member of the Board of the UK Statistics Authority:

Sir Andrew Dilnot CBE - Chair

Professor Sir Adrian Smith FRS - Deputy Chair (ONS)

Professor David Rhind CBE FRS FBA - Deputy Chair (Official Statistics)

Dame Colette Bowe DBE - Non-Executive Director

Ms Carolyn Fairbairn - Non-Executive Director

Dame Moira Gibb DBE - Non-Executive Director

Professor David Hand OBE FBA - Non-Executive Director

Dr David Levy - Non-Executive Director

Mr John Pullinger CB – National Statistician

Mr Ed Humpherson - Head of Assessment

Mr Glen Watson – Director General (ONS)


The following page provides information about former non-executive members of the Authority:

Former non-executive members of the Authority