The Board


The Chair of the UK Statistics Authority is Sir David Norgrove. David was appointed Chair of the Authority by Her Majesty the Queen in March 2017 following open competition, and with parliamentary approval.

Non-Executive members

Non-Executive members are appointed through open competition. The current Non-Executive members are:

Executive members

The Authority Board currently has three executive members:

  • Professor Sir Ian Diamond, National Statistician. The National Statistician is a Crown appointment as the Authority’s and the Government’s principal adviser on official statistics. The National Statistician is Head of the Government Statistical Service, and is also the Authority’s Chief Executive and Permanent Secretary.
  • Ed Humpherson, the Director General for Regulation.The Director General for Regulation is a statutory post as the the Authority’s principal adviser on the assessment and reassessment of official statistics and their compliance with the Code of Practice for Statistics.
  • One of the Office for National Statistics (ONS) Directors General on a rotational basis. This is currently Mr Jonathan Athow (the Deputy National Statistician for Economic Statistics). The others are Ms Frankie Kay (Deputy National Statistician for Data Capability) and Mr Iain Bell (Deputy National Statistician for Population and Public Policy).

Former members

  • Professor Sir Adrian Smith FRS Non-Executive Director 1 April 2008 to 1 September 2008, and again from 1 September 2012 to 31 March 2020
  • Professor Sir Ian Diamond FBA FRSE FAcSS Non-Executive Director 1 June 2018 to 5 August 2019
  • Dr David Levy Non-Executive Director 1 August 2012 to 31 May 2019
  • Dame Colette Bowe DBE Non-Executive Director 1 April 2008 to 31 March 2018
  • Dame Moira Gibb DBE  Non-Executive Director 1 February 2008 to 31 January 2018
  • Sir Andrew Dilnot CBE  Chair  1 April 2012 to 31 March 2017
  • Ms Carolyn Fairbairn  Non-Executive Director  1 April 2013 to 30 September 2015
  • Professor David Rhind  Deputy Chair (Statistics System)  1 July 2012 to 30 June 2015
  • Mr Partha Dasgupta  Non-Executive Director  1 April 2008 to 30 June 2014
  • Sir Jon Shortridge  Non-Executive Director  1 February 2010 to 30 October 2012
  • Lord David Rowe-Beddoe  Deputy Chair (ONS)  1 April 2008 to 31 August 2012
  • Sir Michael Scholar KCB  Chair  1 April 2008 to 31 March 2012
  • Professor Sir Roger Jowell CBE  Deputy Chair (Statistics System)  11 November 2008 to 26 December 2011
  • Professor Stephen Nickell CBE FBA  Non-Executive Director  1 April 2008 to 31 October 2010
  • Sir Alan Langlands FRSE  Non-Executive Director  1 April 2008 to 12 April 2009
Please help us improve our website by answering a few quick questions.