Contact OSR

The Office for Statistics Regulation provides independent regulation of all official statistics produced in the UK. If you have an enquiry about a set of statistics, contact details for each theme are below. For general enquiries contact assessment@statistics.gov.uk.


Agriculture and Environment – includes statistics on agriculture, natural environment, fishing, food and forestry.

Contact: Job de Roij job.de.roij@statistics.gov.uk


Business, Industry, Trade and Energy – includes statistics on company structure, size and location; closures or mergers; and turnover, international and UK trade, and research and development.  Energy statistics include prices, fuel poverty and energy sources, such as coal or oil.

Contact: Donna Livesey donna.livesey@statistics.gov.uk


Children, Education and Skills – includes statistics on early years, primary and secondary education, further and higher education, and other post-compulsory education. This covers statistics on establishments, learners, attainment, education workforce, leaver destinations, and those not in education, employment or training.

Contact: Marie McGhee marie.mcghee@statistics.gov.uk


Crime and Justice – includes statistics on crime, and the criminal justice system and how individuals and crimes move through it. It covers people and organisations as victims and offenders, as well as those that work within or support the criminal justice system. It also includes statistics on the general public’s perceptions of crime and the criminal justice system.

Contact: Pat MacLeod pat.macleod@statistics.gov.uk


Culture and Identity – includes statistics on people’s lifestyles and culture, including sport, language and identity.

Contact: Kerstin Hinds kerstin.hinds@statistics.gov.uk


Economy – includes statistics which measure different aspects of, and provide insight into, the UK economy. The statistics cover the UK’s National Accounts, Gross Domestic Product (GDP), and short term indicators, such as the Retail Sales Index. 

Contact: Iain Russell iain.russell@statistics.gov.uk


Health and Social Care – includes statistics relating to public health, health services provided by the National Health Service, social care, and health and safety at work. The theme also covers children in social care, including children looked after by local authorities.

Contact: Emma Nash emma.nash@statistics.gov.uk or Caroline Jones caroline.jones@statistics.gov.uk


Housing, Planning and Local Services – includes statistics on current housing (e.g. house building, housing stock, housing by different tenure types, house prices, housing conditions), household estimates and projections, homelessness, housing requirements and commercial, industrial, retail and residential planning. The theme also covers information on local services such as fire and rescue services.

Contact: Sara James sara.james@statistics.gov.uk


Labour Market and Welfare – includes statistics measuring different aspects of work and jobs and covers people’s employment, working patterns and the types of work they do. The theme also covers any earnings and benefits they receive.

Contact: Donna Hosie donna.hosie@statistics.gov.uk


Population – includes statistics on the size and geographic spread of the population, on the factors driving population change (including births, deaths and migration) and on topics such as families and older people.

Contact: Penny Babb penny.babb@statistics.gov.uk


Security, Defence and International Relations – includes statistics on defence finance, manpower numbers and the health of the Armed Forces, and on equipment, activities and the defence estate. It also provides information on aid sent to developing countries and security sector statistics.

Contact: Kimberly Cullen kimberly.cullen@statistics.gov.uk


Travel, Transport and Tourism – includes statistics on all modes of travel and transport, transport infrastructure and tourism.

Contact: Oliver Fox-Tatum oliver.fox-tatum@statistics.gov.uk